The Nevada Independent

Your state. Your news. Your voice.

The Nevada Independent


Can a Nevada driver found guilty of texting while driving face up to 7 years in prison?

By Todd Butterworth on 04/18/2023


A person who violates Nevada’s law against texting and driving is guilty of a misdemeanor and for the first offense within a 7-year period must pay a fine of $50; for a second offense, a fine of $100; and for a third offense, a fine of $250. No prison time is included in this law, however, if the violation occurs in a work zone or pedestrian safety zone a court may impose penalties of up to a $1,000 fine, six months imprisonment, or 120 hours of community service. 

More than 220 million Americans subscribe to wireless services, and as many as 80% use their phones while driving. Forty-eight states ban text messaging for all drivers though many of these bans provide various exemptions, including for emergencies, law enforcement and first responders.

In 2018, more than 2,800 Americans died in distracted-driving crashes and an estimated 400,000 people were injured. 

This Fact Brief is responsive to conversations such as this one.


Nevada Legislature NRS 484B.165

Nevada Legislature NRS 484B.130

National Conference of State Legislatures Distracted driving data

The Nevada Independent is a proud participant in The Gigafact Project — an initiative to safeguard democracy and spread accurate information.

Have you seen a claim online that you want fact-checked? Send us a link here.

Notice something wrong? Drop us a message at [email protected].
7455 Arroyo Crossing Pkwy Suite 220 Las Vegas, NV 89113
Privacy PolicyRSSContactNewslettersSupport our Work
The Nevada Independent is a project of: Nevada News Bureau, Inc. | Federal Tax ID 27-3192716