the nevada independent logo
Opinion

I’ve learned to love mail-in voting

August 7th, 2020 - 2:00am
I moved from Nevada to Oregon 13 years ago, and vote-by-mail took some getting used to. I actually enjoyed going to the Meadows Mall for early voting, pushing the buttons, getting the “I Voted” sticker. Voting by mail, frankly, felt like it was cheapening the democratic process.







Opinion

When higher education succeeds, Nevada succeeds

August 5th, 2020 - 2:00am
At the start of the global pandemic some national pundits claimed the crisis would be the great equalizer as it shed light on disparities in health care and economics. Since then, others have more appropriately referred to the crisis as the great amplifier as the gap between those on the top and those on the bottom continues to widen.

Opinion

Time for a hybrid school board?

August 4th, 2020 - 2:00am
Once again, I found myself shaking my head while watching the drama and chaos of the latest CCSD Board of Trustees meeting. This board is responsible for governing the fifth-largest school district through monumental challenges.

Opinion

Washoe educators fight for safety as schools reopen

August 4th, 2020 - 2:00am
The Washoe Education Association (WEA), like its brother and sister associations across the state, has faced an uphill battle to keep its educators safe this upcoming school year. For reasons of community-wide safety, the WEA stands by the Washoe County Health Department’s recommendation to transition to full digital learning in the fall.


Opinion

Welcome to the dog days of our coronavirus summer

August 2nd, 2020 - 2:00am
With the fake crowd noise blasting and broadcasters oozing faux enthusiasm from the television, the big-leaguer on the screen circled the bases in the empty ballpark. My curiosity about how the 2020 baseball season would proceed during a pandemic was officially rained out.






Opinion

Nevada’s voting laws do not need to be changed

July 29th, 2020 - 2:00am
As Nevada secretary of state, I have worked hard to protect the right to vote while continuing to uphold the integrity of elections. Even before I took office, Nevada was a leader in providing access to voting and administering elections, and I’m honored that I have had the opportunity to continue this trend.

Opinion

The fight to protect votes

July 28th, 2020 - 2:00am
This year, on top of the normal campaign arguments about who or what we should vote for, we are also having an ear-splitting national dispute over how we should cast votes. COVID-19 has changed the way we live, work, learn and play. Should it change our voting processes, too? Republicans, led by President Trump, say no. Democrats say yes.


Opinion

Property taxes are not uniform and equal in Nevada

July 26th, 2020 - 8:49am
Lost in the shuffle in the last special session was the fact that the state government isn’t the only government in Nevada that pays for education. There’s a reason the state directly chips in as much as it does, however — and the reason is us and our thoroughly, ruinously California-inspired property tax system.

loading...

podcast iconINDYMATTERS PODCAST

    correct us
    ideas & story tips

    podcast iconCAFECITO CON LUZ Y MICHELLE

      EN ESPAÑOL

        @TheNVIndy ON TWITTER

        polilit logo