the nevada independent logo
Opinion

Well-funded scientific research, not price controls, is needed now and in the future

March 27th, 2020 - 2:00am
The coronavirus pandemic has upended life as we know it, and no one is immune to its impact. America is adjusting to life with social distancing, self-quarantining, essentially isolating ourselves from each other. Most people surely feel like it’s been the longest few days of their lives but people like me have a bit higher cause for concern during this worldwide global health crisis.



Opinion

Musings on liberty in the face of crises

March 26th, 2020 - 2:00am
Growing up in the wide open expanses of Northern Nevada’s basin and range, my early life was characterized by freedom and in many ways, solitude. Freedom to explore the natural world and the solitude that can only be felt in sparsely populated regions.

Opinion

How to talk to your children during a pandemic

March 25th, 2020 - 2:00am
The kids are home, and many of us are too. Some of us are tightening family budgets to fit unemployed life, while others are working electronically from home for the first time with our kids as new coworkers. (If anyone has found the secrets to making this a peaceful transition, please share them with us all.) One thing’s for sure: our children are at home. All. The. Time. And they are have questions whether they are asking them or not.

NV Indy
2020 Candidate Filing Live Blog
Find out who filed to run for office in 2020
visit now







Opinion

Can a pandemic help settle and heal our politics?

March 15th, 2020 - 2:00am
When most people think of lawyers, their imagination goes to the dramatic trial in a courtroom that has been a staple of pop culture since ol’ Bill wrote about Portia saving Antonio from Shylock with some clever legal and biological technicalities. Trial work is still an important part of any litigator’s business, of course.



Opinion

There is no shortcut to better education

March 8th, 2020 - 3:00am
Anyone who spends any time in public schools sees the need for more resources in a million different ways, or at least sees what some additional resources can add, even when things are pretty good. And anyone who gets to work with, teach, or coach these kids – whether full time teachers or parent volunteers – wants no end to the opportunities they have, even as we who live in the real world know that there is a realistic limit to how much any community can ask of its taxpayers.

Opinion

End Political Welfare Now!

March 6th, 2020 - 2:00am
Recently, Republican Senator Ben Kieckhefer filed an initiative petition to reform Nevada’s primary elections, so that the top two vote-getters, regardless of party affiliation, advance to the general election. So far, the response has been surprising. Democrats have largely ignored it, despite the fact that the current system is going gangbusters for them. It is Republicans, conservatives, and Libertarians that have voiced the most public opposition. Some of that criticism, like David Colborne’s, has been thoughtful and persuasive. But some Republicans have rejected the proposal in its entirety.

Opinion

Gary Olsen, Nevada’s Deaf Grandfather

March 4th, 2020 - 2:00am
On a sunny, cold October day in 2006, I met Gary Olsen. From the moment we shook hands in front of his office on Telegraph Street in downtown Carson City, I knew that Gary was different. He hails from Nebraska, but most people in Nevada state politics have met Gary Olsen: he's deaf, with a fringe of white hair and a perfectly groomed beard.


Opinion

Reno’s government and the difference between leaders and politicians

March 1st, 2020 - 2:10am
It is a shame that there is often very little correlation between the ability to get one’s self elected to office and the ability to lead organizations and the men and women who run them. The former takes money, time, connections, sometimes a family name, and usually (to be fair) a lot of hard work, especially in local races where knocking on doors makes all the difference. The latter is a skill which must be learned and honed, even for those with some natural talent at it.


loading...

podcast iconINDYMATTERS PODCAST

    correct us
    ideas & story tips

    podcast iconCAFECITO CON LUZ Y MICHELLE

      EN ESPAÑOL

        @TheNVIndy ON TWITTER

        polilit logo