the nevada independent logo
A billboard in support of Washoe County Commissioner Marsha Berkbigler is seen in downtown Reno on Nov. 7, 2019 (Mark Hernandez/The Nevada Independent)

Washoe County Commissioners Marsha Berkbigler and Vaughn Hartung will be seeking re-election in November 2020.

Chair Hartung, who is the county commissioner for District 4, confirmed in an interview that he would run for his seat again. Hartung, whose district encompasses Sparks, Spanish Springs, and Wadsworth, has been on the board since 2012 and was elected chair of the board in 2019.

Berkbigler, who was also elected in 2012 and serves as the county commissioner for District 1, confirmed that she would run for re-election. Berkbigler’s district encompasses portions of the West and Southwest Truckee Meadows that extend along the Eastern Sierras, including parts of the Tahoe Basin.

The Washoe County Board of Commissioners is comprised of five members, who each serve a four-year term. The board works with the cities of Reno and Sparks and focuses on county issues that affect more than 465,000 people.

Both Berkbigler and Hartung are members of a variety of community boards in the area, with Berkbigler having 12 appointments and Hartung having 11. Outside of working together on the commission, they also have four other boards in common which include the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Agency Governing Board.

Vice Chair Bob Lucey, Commissioner Kitty Jung and Commissioner Jeanne Herman started terms in 2019 that will not end until 2023.

Updated at 10:55 a.m. on Nov. 8, 2019 to clarify term status of three commissioners not up for re-election this cycle.

NV Indy
2020 Election Center
Candidate Trackers
Endorsements, Ads, Policies, Visits
& More
visit now
Comment Policy (updated 10/4/19): Please keep your comments civil. We reserve the right to delete comments or ban users who engage in personal attacks, use an excess of profanity, make verifiably false statements or are otherwise nasty.


    correct us
    ideas & story tips



        @TheNVIndy ON TWITTER

        polilit logo