the nevada independent logo
Clark County School District school buses line up to pick up special needs students at Variety School, 2800 E. Stewart Ave. on Thursday, Feb. 24, 2017. Photo by Jeff Scheid/The Nevada Independent.

A former Clark County School District associate superintendent and UNLV visiting scholar has been named the chair of the 11-member Commission on School Funding.

Gov. Steve Sisolak appointed Dr. Karlene McCormick-Lee to the commission on Wednesday and named her the chair, meaning she will help guide the development of Nevada’s new K-12 education funding formula. McCormick-Lee is also the founder of NewLeef LLC, which works with education systems across the country on organizational effectiveness.

“Dr. McCormick-Lee has the background and skills necessary to lead some of the most important work for the future of Nevada’s education system,” Sisolak said in a statement “I am confident that her experience and commitment to improving our statewide school system and the outcomes for students across Nevada will make her an effective Chair. I look forward to the Commission’s collaboration with the Department of Education to bring our Pupil-Centered Funding Plan to fruition.”

Her appointment came the same day Sisolak appeared with Clark County Superintendent Jesus Jara and John Vellardita, executive director of the Clark County Education Association, to announce the two parties had reached a tentative contract agreement — averting a threatened teacher strike. During the news conference, Sisolak affirmed his desire to continue improving Nevada’s beleaguered education system, which includes revamping the 52-year-old funding formula.

Sisolak also appointed the four nominees submitted by the Nevada Association of School Superintendents. The four men serve as chief financial officers for various school districts in the state:

  • A.J. Feuling, Carson City School District
  • Jason Goudie, Clark County School District
  • Paul Johnson, White Pine School District
  • Mark Mathers, Washoe County School District

Earlier this summer, Republican Assembly Minority Leader Robin Titus appointed Dusty Casey, chief financial officer of Oasis Academy to the commission. Oasis Academy is a charter school in Fallon.

The remaining five appointments have not been made yet. Senate Majority Leader Nicole Cannizzaro and Assembly Speaker Jason Frierson, both Democrats, are responsible for each making two appointments, while GOP Senate Minority Leader James Settelmeyer will make one appointment.

By law, the Commission on School Funding is required to have its first meeting by Oct. 1.

NV Indy
2020 Election Center
Candidate Trackers
Endorsements, Ads, Policies, Visits
& More
visit now
Comment Policy (updated 10/4/19): Please keep your comments civil. We reserve the right to delete comments or ban users who engage in personal attacks, use an excess of profanity, make verifiably false statements or are otherwise nasty.


    correct us
    ideas & story tips



        @TheNVIndy ON TWITTER

        polilit logo