The Nevada Independent

Your state. Your news. Your voice.

The Nevada Independent

Legislative leaders make final appointments to Commission on School Funding

Jackie Valley
Jackie Valley
A student working on classwork at Pat Diskin Elementary School

Legislative leaders have made their appointments to the Commission on School Funding, rounding out the group that will guide the development of Nevada’s new K-12 education funding formula.

Senate Majority Leader Nicole Cannizzaro appointed Guy Hobbs, the founder of Hobbs, Ong & Associates who has provided technical guidance to the Legislature for 35 years, and Punam Mathur, executive director of the Elaine P. Wynn and Family Foundation and owner of her own consulting company. 

Assembly Speaker Jason Frierson selected Dr. Lisa Morris-Hibbler, chief community services officer for the City of Las Vegas, and Jim McIntosh, the chief financial officer for the City of Henderson.

Senate Minority Leader James Settelmeyer appointed Dr. David Jensen, superintendent of the Humboldt County School District.

Earlier this week, Gov. Steve Sisolak announced that Dr. Karlene McCormick-Lee would chair the 11-member commission. He also confirmed the appointments of four school district chief financial officers — A.J. Feuling (Carson City School District), Jason Goudie (Clark County School District), Paul Johnson (White Pine County School District) and Mark Mathers (Washoe County School District).

In July, Assembly Minority Leader Robin Titus selected Dusty Casey, the chief financial officer of Oasis Academy, a charter school in Fallon, to serve on the commission.

The newly created commission is charged with making recommendations to the governor and Legislature by Dec. 1, 2020, as the 52-year-old Nevada Plan is replaced by the Pupil-Centered Funding Plan. By law, the group’s first meeting must occur by Oct. 1.


Featured Videos

7455 Arroyo Crossing Pkwy Suite 220 Las Vegas, NV 89113
Privacy PolicyRSSContactNewslettersSupport our Work
The Nevada Independent is a project of: Nevada News Bureau, Inc. | Federal Tax ID 27-3192716