the nevada independent logo
Supporters cheer while President Donald J. Trump, speaks during a political rally at the Las Vegas Convention Center on Thursday, Sept. 20, 2018. (Jeff Scheid-Nevada Independent)

President Donald Trump has named former Attorney General Adam Laxalt, Republican Senate Leader James Settelmeyer and Republican Assembly Leader Robin Titus as his Nevada campaign chairs ahead of his re-election bid next year.

The addition of the three campaign chairs builds on the existing Trump Victory team in the state, which includes Regional Political Director Jeremy Hughes and State Director Joe Weaver. The Trump campaign has been eyeing the Silver State as a possible pickup opportunity in the 2020 election after losing to Hillary Clinton by 2.4 percentage points, or fewer than 30,000 votes, in 2016.

Notably missing from the list of campaign chairs is Rep. Mark Amodei, the lone Republican in the state’s congressional delegation and the highest ranking GOP elected official in the state. Amodei served as Trump’s Nevada campaign chair in 2016.

Spokespeople from Amodei’s office and the Trump campaign could not be immediately reached for comment.

The Northern Nevada congressman announced his support last month for the House’s impeachment inquiry. Amodei is, however, withholding judgment about whether Trump committed any impeachable offenses.

It is unclear whether Amodei was asked to again serve as campaign chair and turned down the role, or whether the Trump campaign elected to approach other officials instead for the posts. 

Humberto Sanchez contributed to this report.

Comment Policy (updated 10/4/19): Please keep your comments civil. We reserve the right to delete comments or ban users who engage in personal attacks, use an excess of profanity, make verifiably false statements or are otherwise nasty.
correct us
ideas & story tips